The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) Friday has announced central contract list 2021-22 for 20 elite men cricketers, including three emerging cricketers.

The list was finalized by the panel that comprised Director – International Cricket, Zakir Khan, chief selector Muhammad Wasim and Director – High Performance, Nadeem Khan, who also consulted head coach Misbahul Haq and captain Babar Azam as part of the process.

The provisional list was then shared with Chief Executive Wasim Khan before it was approved by PCB Chairman Mr. Ehsan Mani.

The 12-month contracts will run from July 1, 2021 to June 30, 2022.

Here is the list: 

Category A – Babar Azam, Hasan Ali, Mohammad Rizwan and Shaheen Shah Afridi

Category B – Azhar Ali, Faheem Ashraf, Fakhar Zaman, Fawad Alam, Shadab Khan and Yasir Shah

Category C – Abid Ali, Imam-ul-Haq, Haris Rauf, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Nawaz, Nauman Ali and Sarfaraz Ahmed

Emerging Category – Imran Butt, Shahnawaz Dahani and Usman Qadir

PCB has demoted former Pakistan captain Sarfaraz Ahmed to Category C while Mohammad Hafeez has been ignored yet again.

While there has been a 25 percent increase in Category A to C retainers, while Emerging Category retainers increased by 15 percent; match fee across formats equalized.

Players missing out on the central contracts include Asad Shafiq, Haider Ali, Haris Sohail, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Abbas, Naseem Shah, Shan Masood and Usman Shinwari.

However, they remain firmly in the selectors’ plan for the season ahead and have the opportunity to earn contracts for the 2022-23 season, subject to performances during the 2021-22 season.

PCB Chief Executive Wasim Khan said, “we have seen the emergence of Haris Rauf and Mohammad Hasnain move from an Emerging Category to Category C, and the likes of Imran Butt, Shahnawaz Dahani and Usman Qadir breaking into the Emerging Category.” 


Source link