There are so many players in the pipeline, India doesn’t have to worry about making two U-19 teams. Other countries are struggling to do that. However, with two teams, they could not get ahead of Bangladesh U-19 team at home. Bangladesh U-19 team has become the undefeated champion by showing absolute dominance in the tri-party tournament. In the final, the young Tigers lost to India U-19 ‘B’ team by a huge margin of 161 runs.

There are so many players in the pipeline

Bangladesh batted before losing the toss at Eden Gardens in Kolkata on Tuesday (December 6). The youngsters lost 6 wickets for 115 runs due to batting disaster. However, Aich Mollah and Ashikur Zaman put on 94 runs for the eighth wicket. Ashikur was dismissed for 50 off 57 balls with 5 fours and 2 sixes. On the other hand, Ich went back with the regret of missing the century. The right-handed batsman played a great innings of 93 runs off 91 balls with 10 fours and 2 sixes.

In reply to 235 runs, India U-19

In reply to 235 runs, India U-19 ‘B’ team kept on taking wickets from the very beginning. Only two batsmen crossed the double digit, and the rest went back from the single digit house. As a result, India U-19 ‘B’ team was reduced to 53 runs. For Bangladesh, Naimur Rahman Nayan took 4 wickets and Meherab Hasan and Ashikur took 2 wickets each. Ashikur won the final-best award for his all-round performance.

Short score

Bangladesh U-19 team: 41.4 overs 234/10 (Ich 93, Ashikur 50, Nabil 28; Dhanush 3/62, Robi 2/44).
India U-19 ‘B’ team: 21.3 overs 53/10 (Uday 28, Tambe 11; Nayan 4/18, Ashikur 2/6, Mehrab 2/6, Shakib 1/4).
Result: Bangladesh U-19 team won by 161 runs.

Best match: Ashikur Zaman.

Ittefaq / SI